OCUL Collaborative Futures Steering Committee (OCUL-CFSC)

The OCUL Collaborative Futures Steering Committee (OCUL-CFSC) provides operational oversight and management of Collaborative Futures and ensures coordination of its subcommittees and working groups.


OCUL-CFSC steers the development and execution of Collaborative Futures workplans and provides ongoing advice to OCUL’s Assistant Director, Collaborative Initiatives.


  1. Monitoring progress of all working groups
  2. Making decisions on Collaborative Futures elements
  3. Ensuring coordination between Collaborative Futures subcommittees and working groups
  4. Developing and delivering ongoing member communications


OCUL-CFSC membership comprises three OCUL Directors and representatives from each Collaborative Futures Subcommittee.

  • Robin Canuel (Lakehead University) – Chair
  • Nicole Nolan (Brock University) – Director-at-large
  • Catherine Davidson (Ontario Tech University) – Director-at-large
  • Kymberly Ash (Brock University) – Chair, Communications Subcommittee
  • Alie Visser (Western University) – Chair, Discovery and User Experience Subcommittee
  • Meghan Burke (Queen's University) – Chair, Metadata Management and Standards Subcommittee
  • Ed Driedger (Nipissing University) – Chair, Shared Policy Subcommittee
  • Joanne Rumig (Carleton University) – Chair, Shared Resources Subcommittee 
  • Geoff Sinclair (Trent University) – Chair, Systems and Analytics Subcommittee

Ex officio members:

  • Anika Ervin-Ward (OCUL Assistant Director, Collaborative Initiatives)
  • Amy Greenberg (OCUL Executive Director)
  • Alex Fletcher (OCUL Omni Technology and Network Zone Specialist)
  • Jacqueline Whyte Appleby (Scholars Portal Interim Associate Director)

OCUL-CFSC was established in 2017 and became an OCUL Standing Committee as of January 2024. Previously, OCUL-CFSC was under the oversight of the Collaborative Futures Directors group that disbanded in 2024.