OCUL Outstanding Contribution Award

The OCUL Outstanding Contribution Award recognizes an individual or team from member libraries who are notable contributors to advancing the OCUL Way and the consortium’s strategic priorities. 

Key Dates – 2024

  • Nominations open: July 9
  • Nomination deadline: October 7
  • Award Jury reviews nominations: October-November
  • Award recipient(s) announcement: December-January

Nomination guidelines


Outstanding contributions are those that advance the OCUL Way and/or one or more strategic priorities either across OCUL member libraries or within a particular sector of OCUL member libraries.

Types of accomplishments include, but are not limited to:

  • Innovation and achievement that helped advance an OCUL strategy.
  • Demonstrated leadership and success in advancing an OCUL project.
  • Remarkable achievements that embody the value that OCUL places on networking, collaboration and community.


  • Individuals/teams currently employed at an OCUL member library or in another department from the member institution that partners with the member library.
  • OCUL Directors, and full-time OCUL staff and Scholars Portal staff are not eligible.
  • For the 2024 OCUL Award, nominee contributions can span accomplishments between May 2023 and May 2024. 

Award decisions are made by a jury consisting of two OCUL Directors and one OCUL Executive Committee member. Nominations are confidential to OCUL Directors and staff.

How to submit a nomination

  • Nominations can be made by staff of any OCUL member library. Individuals can self-nominate or nominate others.
  • Nominations must include a completed nomination form with one letter of support, considered to be the ‘seconder’ of the nomination.
  • Email completed nomination packages to ocul [at] ocul.on.ca with the subject line ‘Nomination – OCUL Award.’

Download the 2024 OCUL Award Nomination Form (fillable Word document)

Alternate formats for the nomination form are available; please katrina.fortner [at] ocul.on.ca (subject: OCUL%20Award%20Nomination%20-%20alternate%20method) (email the OCUL team) for assistance.

Nomination deadline for the 2024 OCUL Award is October 7, 2024 at 5 p.m. Eastern Time.


Past recipients

2023 OCUL Award - Announcement

  • Automated Fulfillment Network Pilot Team
    • Adam Taves, York University
    • Brandon Uhlman, University of Waterloo
    • Dillon Moore, Wilfrid Laurier University
    • Doug Horne, University of Guelph
    • Juliene McLaughlin, University of Guelph
    • Matt Van Ast, University of Guelph
    • Randy Oldham, University of Guelph
    • Robin Sakowski, University of Guelph
    • Samantha Gibbon, University of Waterloo
    • Vera Fesnak, Wilfrid Laurier University (retired)
  • Automated Fulfillment Network Expansion Working Group
    • Brandon Uhlman, University of Waterloo
    • Dan Scott, Laurentian University
    • Joanne Rumig, Carleton University
    • Lisl Schoner-Saunders, Algoma University
    • Mandy Deans Kassies, Brock University
    • Matt Van Ast, University of Guelph
    • Monica Rettig, Brock University
    • Randy Oldham, University of Guelph

2017 OCUL Award

  • Breaking the Colour Barrier Team (University of Windsor)
    • Dave Johnston, Leddy Library, University of Windsor
    • Heidi Jacobs, Leddy Library, University of Windsor
    • Miriam Wright, Department of History, University of Windsor
  • OCUL Geo Community Historical Topographical Map Digitization Team
  • Keep @ Downsview Project
    • University of Toronto
    • University of Ottawa
    • Western University
    • McMaster University
    • Queen’s University

2014 OCUL Award - Announcement

  • Tony Horava (University of Ottawa)

2012-13 OCUL Award - Announcement

  • Jenny Marvin (University of Guelph)

2010 OCUL Award - Announcement (PDF)

  • Bo Wandschneider (University of Guelph)
  • Conifer Systems Team
    • Robin Isard (Algoma University)
    • Dan Scott (Laurentian University)
    • Art Rhyno (University of Windsor)

2009 OCUL Award - Announcement (PDF)

  • TriUniversity Group of Libraries (TUG) Primo Implementation Team
    • Eric Bungay (University of Guelph)
    • Nancy Collins (University of Waterloo)
    • Chris Gray (University of Waterloo)
    • Alison Hitchens (University of Waterloo)
    • Wayne Johnston (University of Guelph)
    • Greg Sennema - team leader (Wilfrid Laurier University)
    • Matt Tales (Wilfrid Laurier University)
    • Charles Woods (University of Waterloo)

More information

If you have questions about the OCUL Outstanding Contribution Award, please email ocul [at] ocul.on.ca