The Council

The University Librarians at Ontario's 21 university libraries are responsible for governing OCUL's work and are known as the OCUL Directors.

Executive Committee

The Executive Committee supports the Directors group in fulfilling OCUL's purpose.


Beth Sandore Namachchivaya, University Librarian, University of Waterloo, Term: 2020-2021

Vice-Chair/Chair Elect:

Carol Shepstone, Chief Librarian, Ryerson University, Term: 2020-2021


Gohar Ashoughian, University Librarian, Wilfrid Laurier University, Term: March 2020-May 2022


Joy Kirchner, Dean of Libraries, York University, Term: 2020-2021


Talia Chung, University Librarian, University of Ottawa, Term: 2019-2021

Ex Officio:

Executive Director, Ontario Council of University Libraries