

Governance Policies and Procedures

OCUL Membership Structure

Approval date: OCUL Council; December 3, 2024

Revised:

Date for review: Fall 2025; reviewed annually

Background

Effective in 2024, the Council of Ontario Universities (COU) membership consists of Ontario's 20 publicly supported universities (Institutional Members). In addition, COU recognizes four Associated Universities within their structure. The Associated Universities participate in COU committees and services but are non-voting.

Membership in OCUL follows the COU structure, as OCUL is a member of COU's Advisory Committees. Accordingly, libraries at the Associated Universities are non-voting members of OCUL.

This policy clarifies how OCUL Associated Universities can participate in consortium governance, activities and services.

Policy Principles

Although Associated Universities are non-voting, library directors at these institutions are invited to attend the consortium's fall and spring Council meetings and to participate in Council discussions.

Associated Universities have the opportunity and expectation to participate in and support the operation of OCUL where possible, including membership on and engagement with OCUL committees, communities, and other groups.

Associated Universities have the same opportunity as Institutional Members to access services provided by OCUL and Scholars Portal.

Financial Process and Fees

Associated Universities are excluded from the cost-share used for calculating Institutional Member contributions to OCUL and Scholars Portal budgets and instead pay an annual participation fee. These fees are assessed annually as part of the budget process.

Associated Universities that are accepted into institutional membership by COU will have their OCUL membership status, including the right to vote, changed to that of an OCUL Institutional Member following approval by the Council. However, any resultant change in membership fees will be made effective at the start of OCUL's next fiscal year.