Data in Ontario Group (DINO)


To promote and encourage the advancement of access to electronic data resources, such as but not restricted to, those provided under the Data Liberation Initiative (DLI).

To facilitate the exchange of ideas and discussion amongst data professionals. To lobby government and commercial institutions and liaise with professionals data organizations.


  • Chair: Vince Gray, Western
  • Sandra Keys, Waterloo
  • Michelle Edwards, Guelph
  • Ken Hernden, Algoma
  • Heather Whipple, Brock
  • Jane Fry, Carleton
  • Linda Mitchell, Lakehead
  • Sylvie Lafortune, Laurentian (on leave)
  • Vivek Jadon, McMaster
  • Tom Power, Nipissing
  • Susan Mowers, Ottawa
  • Jeff Moon, Queen's
  • Kevin Manuel, Ryerson
  • Berenica Vejvoda, Toronto
  • Barbara Znamirowski, Trent
  • Stephanie Orfano, UOIT
  • Helene LeBlanc, Wilfrid Laurier (on leave)
  • Kristi Thompson, Windsor
  • Walter Giesbrecht, York

Appointment Process:

Each member institution will nominate one individual to be the official representative (OR). Additional individuals may attend meetings, with one person designated OR.

Established 2004